Lunch at the Dale House Café will include the best view of the James River for miles in either direction! The fare includes homemade BBQ and light sandwiches along with a variety of soups, salads, and desserts.
Summer Hours: 11:00am–4:30pm (observed beginning March 16, 2020)
Winter Hours: 11:00am–4:00pm (observed through March 15, 2020)
The Dale House Café menu, which features soups, salads, and sandwiches as well as tempting desserts, changes seasonally.
The Dale House Café is approximately a one-third of a mile walk from the Visitor Center and is located between the fort site and the Archaearium Museum. The Dale House Café is only accessible to guests who have a valid admission ticket and all patrons must park in the Visitor Center parking lot.
To contact the Dale House Café, please call (757) 229-1170 during operating hours.
The cozy riverside building was known as the Relic House when it was built in the early 20th century. It showcased displays of the artifacts unearthed by members of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (which still owns the building and original fort site, under the name Preservation Virginia). Later the building served as a pottery demonstration area and museum store before becoming the headquarters for the Jamestown Rediscovery Project in 1994. In spite of its small footprint, the Dale House supported all functions of the archaeological project for several years, including collections storage, conservation, staff offices, and exhibit space.
In 2011, Carrot Tree Kitchens brought its famous carrot cake and lunch service to the riverfront of the James. Owner Debi Helseth built her first commercial bakery in her home garage in 1990. Five years later she opened Carrot Tree Kitchens, Williamsburg’s only scratch bakery at the time, on Jamestown Road.