The Fort Extension

A large cellar has been discovered at the northeast corner of James Fort's 1608 addition. It seems likely that the building associated with cellar is indeed from the fort period (ca. 1607-1624). During the 2016 field season the archaeologists will be continuing to explore the fill layers in the cellar. So far the artifacts coming from the layers are typical of the fort period: pig bones, trade beads, scraps of copper, iron nails, a lead cloth seal, and a Krauwinckel jetton (a casting counter that may have helped calculate accounts with Roman numbers).

In the bottom of the cellar the Jamestown Rediscovery archaeologists have located a square shaped well shaft. Excavations this season expect to find a wooden lining to the well shaft like the one seen in a circa 1610 square well found in the northern corner of the triangular portion of the fort. The wooden frame should survive below the level of the water table due to the anaerobic, or oxygen-free, conditions. The lack of oxygen deep in the well will likely have prevented bacteria from thriving and degrading the wooden structure.